Dark Fantasy Forecast for Fall 2014

As I browsed the internet for upcoming major events I came across some crazy events that will be happening in 2014. In the realm of technology: DNA Sequencing for under $100, Solar Power Planes, Robotic Pack Mules for the Military, New World Trade Center, International Space Station, Google Glasses and more that I will not get into. Let’s just say there will be a lot of advances when 2014 comes along. Then I moved to my favorite topic, ENTERTAINMENT! First noteworthy event, The 2016 Olympics being held in Brazil, cool! Also the FIFA World Cup 2014 will also be held there. After reading all of that, my interest was not yet there.

So I continued to look at the entertainment forecast for 2014, and I strolled along to movie releases. Not to my surprise I found a number of movie being released in 2014 that had a common theme; fantasy. Just to name a few: Amazing Spider Man 2, X-Men, Captain America, Godzilla and a ton more, just look it up! One upcoming movie that I clicked on and research a little more, was title Maleficent, and its staring Angelina Jolie. This movie is about the untold story of the evil nemesis in the classic tale of Sleeping Beauty; for those who are unfamiliar with the story, Maleficent is the evil witch from Sleeping Beauty. Of course this left me full of joy because if Angelia Jolie is staring, then I can predict that it will be a dark fantasy sort of movie.

Image

While still searching entertainment, I also discovered that in 2014, there are a lot of Disney Broadway shows that are in development such as: The Hunchback of Notre-Dame, Dumbo, The Little Mermaid, Freaky Friday and one being released in 2014 Aladdin! So it seems like in 2014, Disney is making a comeback in the entertainment district. Although it is not classic Disney, it looks as though, directors and producers are going for a darker take on Disney stories. I feel that bringing Disney stories to Broadway creates a gloomier take to the story because there are not as many special effects and cartoon aspects to the story.

Image

The theme I am choosing to work with for my predictions of Fall Fashion in 2014 is Dark Fantasy. I like this idea as my theme but I would like to find other words than Dark and Fantasy for my title of the theme. I was toying around with other words for dark: Clouded, Aphoristic, Morose, Somber or Wicked; and for Fantasy: Delusion, Mirage, Illusion, or Phantasy.

 Image

Now for ideas on taglines; I wanted to stick with a Disney-ish sort of theme so I was looking up Alice in Wonderland movie quotes because I feel that movie fits in the world of dark fantasy. So some possible tag lines:

  • “You would have to be half mad to dream me up.”
  • “Every adventure requires a first step.”
  • “Most everyone’s mad here.”
  • “You may have noticed that I’m not all there myself.”

 Image

Next I think a narrative story, that introduces my Fall of 2014 Fashion Forecast, would work best and tie in nicely with my overall theme.

                “Once upon a time…”

I will have to put more thought into it because I’d like it to start off the narrative as a fairy tale story but then turn it into a more twisted, gloomy story but still play on the fairy tale story line.

Image

Leave a Reply

